Back to the Routine

So, I know I shouldn’t be complaining, because I have had the whole last 2 weeks off…but I really don’t want to go back to school. I really could get used to this whole stay at home wife thing. Cooking, cleaning, laundry, crossfit. How perfect would that be?!  But in all seriousness, I can not eat well when I am at home, surrounded by remnants of holiday food – all.day. Because now, I have rationalized everything I eat, “I don’t want this to go to waste…I’ll get back on the paleo wagon on Monday…”  and we don’t go out to eat 80 times during a school week.  But I feel so gross, and my energy level has been in the toilet, mainly due to the sugar cookie and pizza diet I’ve been on for the last 2 weeks. Interestingly enough, when you feed your body crap…it feels like crap. Especially when it used to know what good felt like. Ugh.

So,  with reality fast approaching and knowing how busy this week will be AND the frigid temperatures lurking in the next few days, most of this week’s meals are prepped in gallon freezer bags ahead of time and kept in the fridge/freezer for handy crockpot meals (every teacher’s favorite kitchen utensil).

Meal Plan – January 5th – January 11th, 2014

Breakfast for the Week

Banana Bread

Southwestern Fritatta – (I use breakfast sausage from a local farm)

southwestern fritatta

Lunches – leftovers from dinner 

Dinner Entrees 

Sunday: Strip Steak with Jalepeno Chimichurri Sauce

Monday: Garlic Herb Crusted Pork Tenderloin (crockpot)

Tuesday: Creamy Salsa Verde Chicken (a fave)

Wednesday: Balsamic Veggie Mini Meatloaf

Thursday: Orange Chicken w/ white rice (cause Cauli-rice sucks)

Friday: Spicy Sweet Bacon Wrapped Brats (using Angry Orchard) & Buffalo Chicken Dip (See recipe below)

Saturday:  FCCF Holiday Party (cheat meal)

Desserts

Paleo Brownies – freaking amazing. I make without the frosting. Would never know they are made without flour! 

Paleo Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip

Paleo mayo (1 egg, 2/3 C light olive oil, tsp Dijon mustard, squeeze of lemon, 1 Tbs. garlic powder – Immersion Blender it upppppp!)

2 cups of shredded chicken (or 2 cans of chunk chicken)

2/3 c. Franks Red Hot 

2 Tbsp. dried dill

Mix all ingredients ingredients in a baking dish and put under the broiler for 10-15 minutes or until the dip is bubbly and the top layer browned and crispy (it looks like cheese!!). Serve with celery,crinkle cut carrots, or Terra Chips.

buffalo wing dip

Leave a Reply

